Leeton Shire is located in the Riverina region of NSW and includes the towns of Yanco and Whitton and the villages of Murrami and Wamoon. The Shire plays an integral role in value-added agricultural processing, agriculture, education and research, transport and logistics. Leeton lays claim as the birth place of the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area and was purposely built as part of the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Scheme.

Leeton is renowned as the Heart of SunRice Country and is home to the SunRice Headquarters. Whilst the region was founded on irrigated crops and horticulture, large industries in the processing and value-added sectors now employ more people than agriculture.

Data for this website has been sourced from Council’s financial statements, Council’s annual report and Council’s data returns. The website also refers to data from a number of agencies and entities. Please refer to the data page of this website for links to definitions, information on performance measures, benchmarks, OLG Groups and the data sources that have been used.

Please contact Council if you would like any further details or explanations regarding individual results and any differences between your Council’s performance and that of another council.