## **Australian Classification of Local Governments and OLG group numbers**

Councils have been compared, where relevant, with the 'group average'. The Office of Local Government (OLG) groups are based on the Australian Classification of Local Governments (ACLG) determined by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS). NSW councils have been condensed from 22 ACLG categories into 11 groups, to better reflect the councils in NSW.

The OLG has also classified councils' by type into large rural, metropolitan, metropolitan fringe, regional town/city and rural.

The groupings are based on broad demographic variables. There are often large differences between councils in the same group, as a result this information should not be used as a basis for individual council policy changes. A listing of NSW councils is provided on the following page:

Step 1	Step 2	Step 3		Category	Alpha	OLG group No.	Council	Classification
URBAN (U)								
	Capital City (CC)	Not applicable		1	UCC	1	\	
Pop. >	Metropolitan Developed	Small (S)	up to 30,000	2	UDS `			
20,000	(D)	Medium (M)	30,001-70,000	3	UDM -	<u> </u>		Metropolitan
,	Part of an urban centre	Large (L)	70,001-120,000	4	UDL >	> 3		
	> 1,000,000 and pop.	Very large (VL)	> 120,000	5	UDV -			
or	density > 600/sq km.	, , ,	·					
Pop. density	Regional Town/City (R)	Small	up to 30,000	6	URS >			
> 30 persons	Part of an urban centre	Medium	30,001-70,000	7	URM -	<b>&gt;</b> 4		Regional Town/
per sq km	with population	Large	70,001-120,000	8	URL ~		>	City
	<1,000,000 and	Very large	>120,001	9	URV _	<b>&gt;</b> 5		•
or	predominantly urban in nature		·					
>90% of LGA	Fringe (F)	Small	up to 30,000	10	UFS `		`	
population is	A developing LGA on the	Medium	30,001-70,000	11	UFM -	<u></u>		Metropolitan
urban	margin of a developed or	Large	70,001-120,000	12	UFL >	7		Fringe
	regional urban centre.	Very large	>120,001	13	UFV _			
RURAL (R)								
	Significant Growth (SG)	Not applicable		14	RSG	N/A		
	Average annual					•		
	Population growth > 3%,							
	population > 5,000 and not remote.							
	Agricultural (A)	Small	Up to 2,000	15	RAS	8		Rural
		Medium	2,001-5,000	16	RAM	9		
		Large	5,001,-10,000	17	RAL	10		
		Very large	10,001 to 20,000	18	RAV	11		Large Rural
	Remote (T)	Extra small	Up to 400	19	RTX	N/A		
	Situated in a remote	Small	401-1,000	20	RTS	N/A		
	locality.	Medium	1,001-3,000	21	RTM	9		
		Large	3,001 to 20,000	22	RTL	10		

Note: For "Rural Agricultural Very Large" (RAV), "Rural Remote Large" (RTL), and "Rural Significant Growth" (RSG), 20,000 is the upper limit because beyond this number all local governments are deemed "Urban".

## **Listing of NSW Councils Group and Type**

Council	OLG Group	Council Type	Council	OLG Group	Council Type	Council	OLG Group	Council Type
Albury	4	Regional Town/City	Coonamble	9	Rural	Lachlan	10	Large Rural
Armidale Regional	4	Regional Town/City	Cootamundra-Gundagai	11	Large Rural	Lake Macquarie	5	Regional Town/City
Ballina	4	Regional Town/City	Cowra	11	Large Rural	Lane Cove	2	Metropolitan
Balranald	9	Rural	Cumberland	3	Metropolitan	Leeton	11	Large Rural
Bathurst Regional	4	Regional Town/City	Dubbo Regional	4	Regional Town/City	Lismore	4	Regional Town/City
Bayside	3	Metropolitan	Dungog	10	Large Rural	Lithgow	4	Regional Town/City
Bega Valley	4	Regional Town/City	Edward River	10	Large Rural	Liverpool	3	Metropolitan
Bellingen	11	Large Rural	Eurobodalla	4	Regional Town/City	Liverpool Plains	10	Large Rural
Berrigan	10	Large Rural	Fairfield	3	Metropolitan	Lockhart	9	Rural
Blacktown	3	Metropolitan	Federation	11	Large Rural	Maitland	5	Regional Town/City
Bland	10	Large Rural	Forbes	10	Large Rural	Mid-Coast	5	Regional Town/City
Blayney	10	Large Rural	Georges River	3	Metropolitan	Mid-Western Regional	4	Regional Town/City
Blue Mountains	7	Metropolitan Fringe	Gilgandra	9	Rural	Moree Plains	11	Large Rural
Bogan	9	Rural	Glen Innes Severn	10	Large Rural	Mosman	2	Metropolitan
Bourke	9	Rural	Goulburn Mulwaree	4	Regional Town/City	Murray River	11	Large Rural
Brewarrina	8	Rural	Greater Hume	11	Large Rural	Murrumbidgee	9	Rural
Broken Hill	4	Regional Town/City	Griffith	4	Regional Town/City	Muswellbrook	11	Large Rural
Burwood	2	Metropolitan	Gunnedah	11	Large Rural	Nambucca	11	Large Rural
Byron	4	Regional Town/City	Gwydir	10	Large Rural	Narrabri	11	Large Rural
Cabonne	11	Large Rural	Hawkesbury	6	Metropolitan Fringe	Narrandera	10	Large Rural
Camden	7	Metropolitan Fringe	Hay	9	Rural	Narromine	10	Large Rural
Campbelltown	7	Metropolitan Fringe	Hills	7	Metropolitan Fringe	Newcastle	5	Regional Town/City
Canada Bay	3	Metropolitan	Hilltops	11	Large Rural	North Sydney	3	Metropolitan
Canterbury-Bankstown	3	Metropolitan	Hornsby	7	Metropolitan Fringe	Northern Beaches	3	Metropolitan
Carrathool	9	Rural	Hunters Hill	2	Metropolitan	Oberon	10	Large Rural
Central Coast	7	Metropolitan Fringe	Inner West	3	Metropolitan	Orange	4	Regional Town/City
Central Darling	9	Rural	Inverell	11	Large Rural	Parkes	11	Large Rural
Cessnock	4	Regional Town/City	Junee	10	Large Rural	Parramatta	3	Metropolitan
Clarence Valley	4	Regional Town/City	Kempsey	4	Regional Town/City	Penrith	7	Metropolitan Fringe
Cobar	10	Large Rural	Kiama (M)	4	Regional Town/City	Port Macquarie-Hastings	5	Regional Town/City
Coffs Harbour	5	Regional Town/City	Ku-ring-gai	3	Metropolitan	Port Stephens	5	Regional Town/City
Coolamon	9	Rural	Kyogle	10	Large Rural	Queanbeyan-Palerang	4	Regional Town/City

Council	OLG Group	Council Type
Randwick	3	Metropolitan
Richmond Valley	4	Regional Town/City
Ryde	3	Metropolitan
Shellharbour	5	Regional Town/City
Shoalhaven	5	Regional Town/City
Singleton	4	Regional Town/City
Snowy Monaro	4	Regional Town/City
Snowy Valleys	11	Large Rural
Strathfield	2	Metropolitan
Sutherland	3	Metropolitan
Sydney	1	Metropolitan
Tamworth Regional	4	Regional Town/City
Temora	10	Large Rural
Tenterfield	10	Large Rural
Tweed	5	Regional Town/City
Upper Hunter	11	Large Rural
Upper Lachlan	10	Large Rural
Uralla	10	Large Rural
Wagga Wagga	4	Regional Town/City
Walcha	9	Rural
Walgett	10	Large Rural
Warren	9	Rural
Warrumbungle	10	Large Rural
Waverley	3	Metropolitan
Weddin	9	Rural
Wentworth	10	Large Rural
Willoughby	3	Metropolitan
Wingecarribee	4	Regional Town/City
Wollondilly	6	Metropolitan Fringe
Wollongong	5	Regional Town/City
Woollahra	2	Metropolitan
Yass Valley	11	Large Rural